[Support] Twinity on Apple Mac OS

Dear Twinizens, and prospective Twinizens,

We have received feedback from several members interested in a Mac OS version of Twinity, or knowing what support for Mac is available. Unfortunately, at the moment, Twinity is not supported on the Mac platform.

On the bright side, Twinity has been tested under Boot Camp on MacBook, MacBook Pro and MacBook Air and has worked without any particular issues. This configuration is not officially supported, but should work. Twinity has not been tested under Parallels, as DirectX support in Parallels is still experimental.

We are keeping a list of people interested in a Mac version of Twinity, and we are looking into ways to bring Twinity to the Mac and provide official support for Twinity on the Mac. We will notify those interested if we find a solution.

Thanks,

The Twinity support team

21 responses to “[Support] Twinity on Apple Mac OS

  1. Kathleen

    Please add my name to the list of those interested in the mac.

    Also, I’ve looked through the forums, but I don’t see any information on using the beta in VMWare – my pc specs seem to match the Twinity requirements, but I have not been able to connect – it crashes every time before I ever get to login or anything. Very disappointing.

  2. @Kathleen, you’ve been added to the list. Regarding your experiences with VMWare, they are similar to some of our tests with technologies in this area. It was disappointing to us as well. -jeremy

  3. Katheryne

    I don’t have a Mac; rather, I am running Linux on my computers. I am interested in knowing if Metaversum will be developing a client for Linux the way Linden did for Second Life. If not, will it at least run on Linux under Wine?

  4. @ Katheryne, there have been a few people who have tried using Wine, but not successfully yet. See http://sered-sl.blogspot.com/2008/05/eve-online-and-twinity-on-wine-almost.html for more information on one member’s attempt.

    From the Metaversum side, we’re still investigating it and I’m afraid we haven’t reached any decision yet. -jeremy

  5. Mac User13

    This blog entry essentially announces your virtual world will be a blip at best. It’s like coming to the WWW and announcing your web site will only load with Internet Explorer. At best you will do what others do – at some point you WILL realize you need the Mac client and you will toss together some poor “port”. You’d think this lesson would have been learned by now. tsk tsk

  6. Ana

    I’m interested in a mac version of twinity. 🙂 This looks so interesting.

  7. aljuk

    Disappointed it’s not on the Mac, please add me to the list.

  8. @aljuk, we’ve added you to the list. Thanks, -jeremy

  9. Plz add me to the list, I ain’t using boot camp, and I’ll wait for a Mac version

  10. @Pompo Bombacci, we’ve added you to the list. Thanks, -jeremy

  11. I’m interested too. Tried it with crossover: install OK, but it won’t run:

    Graphics: current video card doesn’t meet min specs

    Did anyone try Parallels???? PLEASE!

    -M

  12. @Michael Janich, thanks for your feedback on testing with Crossover. I was about to test that myself this week. I have tried Parallels and no joy, since the DirectX support in Parallels is “experimental”. In fact, it crashed the host Mac OS X.
    – jeremy

  13. Sweeny Baxter

    I would love to be a part of the Twinity community, as a mac user I guess I’ll have to wait but could you please give us a clue as to when we can expect a mac version to be available.

  14. @Sweeny Baxter, We don’t have an estimated release date yet, sorry. -jeremy

  15. Zack

    Hi, I was wondering if it was possible to delete my membership and my account from twinity.com.

    • @Zack, of course. Please send an email to our support team, support (at) twinity dot com. Sorry to see you go, and if you have any feedback on why you’ve made that decision, I’d be interested in hearing it.

  16. Ben

    Please add me too as someone interested in a mac version. Thanks.

  17. Muhammad Yasir

    mac ox version when is coming out?

  18. Muhammad Yasir

    WHEN WILL MAC VERSION COME OUT

  19. @Muhammad Yasir, sorry, we still don’t have a firm date. As soon as we do, we’ll announce it.

  20. Azim

    Is there any specific ports to be open on firewall to get this work. As iam trying from my workplace

Leave a Reply

Twinity

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10,679 other followers

